Who We Are

The Foundation works closely with the National Biodiesel Board to address national issues affecting us all -- cleaner air, greater economic development for rural communities, and enhanced national security through energy independence.  Organized in 1994, our mission is to accomplish outreach, education, research and demonstration activities for the advancement of biodiesel.    

Foundation Board of Directors 

jefflynn_pp President
Jeff Lynn, Illinois Soybean Association
Jeff is from Oakford, Ill. is part of a family farm dating back to 1833 that includes corn, soybeans and seed soybeans.  He is director of the Illinois Soybean Association as well as trustee for Chandlerville Township in Cass County, Ill. He has been active in the Farm Bureau and Menard County Extension Youth Council. Jeff and his wife represent an exchange student organization and have hosted eleven students since 2000.
markcaspers Vice President
Mark Caspers, Director Nebraska Soybean Board
Mark is a fourth generation family farmer operating a diversified cropping operation on 600 acres of land in southeast Nebraska.  He is currently serving as director on the Nebraska Soybean Board. He is passionate about biodiesel and has been using B20 in his farming operation for more than ten years.

Lindsay Fitzgerald, Senior Manager/Government Affairs with the Renewable Energy Group, Inc.
Lindsay has a history of working in the biofuels industry. Prior to working at REG, she worked as the Director of Regulatory Affairs for the National Biodiesel Board and before that, with the Environmental Protection Agency serving as a specialist on the Renewable Fuel Standard. Lindsay, has experience as a research analyst and legal assistant and is a graduate of Indiana University in Pennsylvania.
190214_pht_daniellebrennan Secretary
Danielle Brannan, Executive Vice President New Leaf Biofuel
Danielle is a San Diego Clean Cities Coalition board member and involved in community relations on behalf of New Leaf. Danielle has overseen exponential growth and helped position New Leaf Biofuel for future expansion. Prior to working for New Leaf, Danielle worked as a federal contract procurement specialist as well as in the commercial insurance industry specializing in business coverage,risk management and corporate policy servicing.
Mike Devine
Michael Devine, World Energy Vice President for Sales and Business Development
Mike plays a key role in establishing a biodiesel downstream distribution platform, working directly with senior management and the company's supply chain and logistics teams.  He has been a featured speaker on the biodiesel integration into the U.S. petroleum supply chain and has worked with national and state petroleum associations to develop biodiesel education and outreach programs. Mike is an early adaptor and outspoken advocate for biodiesel.
190214_pht_chrishill_pp Director
Chris Hill, American Soybean Association
Chris grows soybeans and corn in Brewster, Minnesota. He joined the Minnesota Soybean Growers Association in 2002 and serves as the New Uses Action Team Policy Lead.  In his spare time, Chris serves as a 4-H leader and is a member of the American Legion Honor Guard.

Matt Jaeger from podium Director
Matt Jaeger, President and CEO of Emergent Green Energy

Matt is a third generation farmer who has always had a passion for farming and agriculture.  He and his brother, Luke, launched Emergent Green Energy, a biodiesel plant in Minneola, Kansas in 2007.  Since that  time he's been part of producing, selling, and promoting the use of biodiesel.  EMG has been a member of the National Biodiesel Board since 2007 and Matt became a director of the National Biodiesel Foundation Board in 2013.
Rob Shaffer, American Soybean Association Board 
Rob is a fourth-generation soybean farmer in El Paso, Illinois.  He is the chairman of the Illinois Livestock Development Group and on the Roanoke Farmers Association Elevator Board of Directors. He is a past voting member of the National Biodiesel Board on behalf of Illinois Soybean Association. 
Dave Walton, Iowa Soybean Association
Dave has been farming for 30 years. His farm operation includes soybeans,corn, alfalfa, beef cow/calf/feedlot, and sheep. Dave serves as the Secretary on the Executive Committee of the Iowa Soybean Association (ISA) Board of Directors. He has been also actively involved in ISA through District Advisory Council and ISA Policy Advisory Committee.
ColinHuwyler Director
Colin Huwyler, CEO Optimus Technologies
Colin is CEO of Optimus Technologies, a company focused on developing engine technology for medium and heavy-duty diesel engines to operate on high biodiesel blends. Colin has been active in the biofuels industry since 2004 serving in various capacities across feedstock, production, and technology. He holds a B.S. in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Pittsburg, is co inventor on a number of patents and currently serves on the Executive Council of CEOs for Sustainability.

Foundation Staff

Executive Director
Tom Verry Currently Director of Outreach and Development for the National Biodiesel Board, Tom works to establish synergistic relationships for the benefit of the biodiesel industry with key stakeholders including feed stock suppliers, state soybean associations, fuel suppliers, end-users, policy makers, government agencies, and environmental/ health groups. Tom also works to identify and access resources that will address the needs of the organization and the industry.

Advisory Board

Steve Howell
Steve Howell is president and founder of MARC-IV, a consulting firm dedicated to the development of industrial products from agriculture. Howell has extensive experience in the biodiesel industry. He is currently the Technical Director for NBB and the chairman of the ASTM task force on biodiesel standards. He is also a principal US liaison for biodiesel standards development with both ISO and CEN.